Monday mornings

Monday mornings and I have not traditionally been on the best of terms. I was particularly dreading this morning as this week is a pretty intense one for me PhD-wise as I have loads of data collection and writing to be done all before the elections on the 3rd May and all while feeling a bit run down and fed up of days and days of rain.

But sometimes the day can start off in a much better way than you expect. Since we got a dog a couple of months ago (a.k.a The Mad Spaniel), I’ve been getting a burst of fresh air every morning when taking her out for her morning walk to Heaton Park. We are so lucky to live near to this park as it’s huge with lots different parts to make it interesting and this beautiful open space is one of my favourite places in Manchester.

There’s currently colour starting to burst out all over the park with yellow daffodils still waggling in the wind,  little clumps of bluebells here and there and frothy pink blossom spilling out all over the trees. I did try to take photos of all of these but it’s quite difficult to do this one-handed when the other arm is being pulled out of it’s socket by TMS off in pursuit of a squirrel.

I did however manage to spot a tree that looked like a snake:

Image

 

And a heart-shaped tree which made me smile:

 

Image

All of which, plus a bit of sunshine, made for a rather cheery start to Monday morning. Now the trick is to try and keep that cheeriness through a few days being locked away coding political websites. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

