Waving goodbye to 2012 – July to December

The second part of 2012 was full of babies, knitting and a big adventure!

In July and August, I was glued to the Olympics and Paralympics which was very handy for knitting my way through lots of gifts for some very cute new babies

Baby Ayla modelling her Purly Queen dress at just 2 days old!

Baby Ayla modelling her Purly Queen dress at just 2 days old!

Baby Noah all snuggly in his PQ sleeping bag :)

Baby Noah all snuggly in his PQ sleeping bag 🙂

 

Incidentally, there is a January sale in the shop on all baby and toddler knits, including a sleeping bag exactly like Noah’s here so do pop over and grab yourself a bargain!

In September, one of my favourite babies had her first birthday and here she is having a great time in a lovely bright cardigan I made for her.

Millie loves the swings!

Millie loves the swings!

The pattern for the cardigan is here and can be made from newborn size right up to 5 years old. It’s a really versatile piece, perfect for layering and I know Millie’s mum found it really useful. I do take commissions so if you like the look of this for a gift or for your little one, drop me a line.

In October, I worked like a lunatic on my PhD and in November, I was lucky enough to go to the US for a whole month!

I spent 2 weeks at the Kennedy School at Harvard which was a really inspiring place…

Harvard (I believe these are actually called the Anderson gates!)

Harvard (I believe these are actually called the Anderson gates!)

…and I stayed in Somerville which was full of lovely coffee shops, the nicest yoga studio I’ve ever been to and a yarn bombed park.

Prospect Park

Prospect Park

I also spent a week at Georgetown University in Washington and did manage a quick peek at the White House and finally Mr Purly Queen met me in New York for a few days of fun. We managed to not take any pictures while we were there but we had an amazing time, catching up with some old friends, seeing some sights and a lot of general pottering which was just lovely.

Then it was back home for December, doing lots of data analysis and knitting up a storm on Christmas gifts and commissions. In a recurring theme, I forgot to take pictures of a lot of the commissions before they went (really must sort out my non-picture taking ways this year!) but hoping to chase them up now that the recipients have got them. My personalized Christmas stockings went down very well and this has to be one of the cutest pictures I’ve ever seen of my knits in use!

Gorgeous baby Annabel having a snooze in her personalized stocking

Gorgeous baby Annabel having a snooze in her personalized stocking

I can’t take credit for Annabel’s Dad’s Christmas jumper but it is ace!

I hope you all had a good 2012 and that this year will be full of brighter and better things for all of us. Will be talking about some of my plans for the Purly Queen in 2013 in my next post. Stay cosy people!x

 

Leave a Reply

