Slow

As I write this, the snow is coming down thick and fast again and you can feel everything take on a slower pace. In fact it’s been a slow few days around here, with both of us a bit tired and sniffly and feeling the need to just nest and rest and recuperate. This weekend was perfect, where the most arduous chore was taking the dog to the park and marveling at how different the park looks without the thick coating of snow it had just a few days before.

Do you think Pepper might want to go and play in the snow?

Do you think Pepper might want to go and play in the snow?

A bit of gentle de-cluttering in the house meant a trip to the nearest charity shops, the only kind of shops other than wool and book shops that I could happily lose a few hours in. (In fact, so enduring is my love for the chazza shops that I remember being told as a small child that I could have some money to spend in a shop of my choice as a gift and I asked to go to the charity shop…bless my weird little self!) Happily, the shops are next to one of my other favourite places, the library, so I grabbed some new books to take home with me.

Then there was reading under cosy blankets with lots of cups of tea, a bit of baking, a bit of knitting, but all at a wonderful, leisurely pace.

There was pie...

There was pie…

Seeing friends and doing stuff is obviously lovely too but that feeling of being able to do exactly what you want, with no rush and no demands on your time is just delicious. I’m trying to keep that feeling in mind as all too often I end up working at weekends and really need to keep them a bit more sacred so there can be more weekends like this.

I loved seeing that my friend Jess thinks the same about staying in. I’ve known Jess since I moved secondary schools when I was about 14 and I believe our first ‘friend date’ was to see Flintstones the Movie…Jess, is that right?! Anyway, Jess has a lovely blog hereย called Once upon a Home, all about the ups and downs of renovating a home and definitely worth a read.

As for today, today is slow too. The falling snow means that I can’t take any decent photos of new knits for the shop and I’ve just realised that all the blog posts I thought I had scheduled for last week haven’t actually posted. But you know what, it’ll all get done eventually so for now, I’m going to make a lovely cup of tea, stare out of the window at the snow (and the little field mouse that is currently munching on the bird feeder!) and snaffle up the last bit of that pie before Mr PQ gets his mitts on it. Hope you all have some slow time in your day too x

6 thoughts on “Slow

    • Hi April, thanks for the comment! I’ve just been catching up on your blog as I’m gluten-free too and just starting to go dairy-free. Really gorgeous nature pics too, lovely seeing different birds to what we have here in Britain!

      • Thank you! The food part of my blog kind of veered off track because of our move across the US. Now that things are slowing down (a little) I’m going to focus on getting back on track and actually posting about food. Haha! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

