Behind the scenes: making baby bunting

I thought some of you, especially the non-knitters might like to see the process of designing and making the baby bunting so here’s a little behind the scenes look at the work that goes into it.

First of all, there was lots of sketching and making bunting flag samples to try and work out the pattern. You might think it would be simple to knit a triangle but it’s takes some time to make sure that it’s the right size and shape (early workings included one so big you could have wrapped a baby in it and one so skinny it looked like a carrot!) Then once I’d worked out the flag pattern I wanted, I had to chart out all of the letters of the alphabet and again, knit a couple of samples to check that the letters were in the right proportion to the flag, were visible and looked nice.

After deciding on two different colour palettes, one bright and a softer, more natural colourway, I then had to play around with a few different yarns to see which would be the best for good stitch definition, colour and hardiness as I wanted the bunting to be something that could stay in children’s rooms as they grow up and not just for babies. Once I’d picked the yarn, I knitted up a few sample names and then it’s on to the finishing.

First you have to give the knitting a gentle little bath:
20130807_204003

 

Then you have to block the knitted pieces. What this means is painstakingly pinning out the knitting to the required shape so that when it dries, the stitches will lie nice and evenly and generally the knit will look much nicer. It takes a little while with solid pieces like triangles but takes HOURS when it’s something like the lace shawl I made earlier in the year. (Which reminds me, I never did write a follow-up piece on that, will add to my to-do list!). Here’s what blocking looks like:

20130807_204927

Some people have a fancy blocking board but I use a doubled up beach towel as I find the lines helpful in getting things straight. A bed is also very handy for blocking but that doesn’t go down so well with Mr Purly Queen so I stick to the kitchen table now 🙂

20130807_205522

 

Then once everything is dry, it’s a case of weaving in all of the ends, sewing the flags together (in the right order!) and adding some ends so that the bunting can be hung up on a cot or wall. And then you have the finished item, personalized bunting…ta da!

20130813_183223

Leave a Reply

