Winter is coming

Brr, getting chilly isn’t it? And brownie points if you got the Game of Thrones reference, I have just started reading the books several years after everyone else and enjoying them greatly!

So a few bits of news in the Purly Queen world, I have a new shop! I’ve finally got my Etsy shop up and running with lovely new branding designed by a lovely lady called Mia from Seattle and full of cosy knits I have been knitting all year to make sure that the shop is full in time for Christmas. The shop is here so do stop by and have a look if you haven’t already done so. I have a welcome discount code running at the moment which gives you 5% off all purchases which is valid till the 1st December so use it while you can! 

Saturday 7th December is Small Business Saturday, a really nice initiative to encourage people to support small businesses like mine. By then, I’ll have the few things left on the needles all knitted up and ready to go in the shop so there should nearly a hundred knitted things for you to buy so hopefully there will be something for everyone! Leading up to that Saturday I’ll be running a series of blog posts highlighting gifts for every type of person so I hope that will help you with some gift inspiration. I’ll also be offering free shipping on that day 🙂

Finally, I’ve been in touch with a lovely knitwear designer from the US called Heidi May who designs really gorgeous patterns under the name The Velvet Acorn, which you can see here. All of her patterns are inspired by nature and lucky for me, she has agreed that I can sell some of these knits from her patterns. I’m starting the process of making up some samples so that you can then order them in the size and colours you want, but in the meantime if you fall in love with any of the patterns and would like some made in time for Christmas, give me a shout asap! Here’s one that I love, isn’t it cute?

Image

In non-knitting news, the funding for my PhD is coming to end at the end of this year and so have to find ways of funding my fourth year myself. As I type, water is also pouring down my walls and a plumber is about to knock a hole in the ceiling to find out what’s causing it. Cross your fingers we don’t need a whole new boiler system/new bathroom…that would need me to sell an almighty lot of knitting!

Stay warm everyone x

P.S. If you haven’t already, do visit my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Purly-Queen/224148720981170

P.P.S Forgot to mention, I’ll be giving 5% of all my profits between now and the end of the year to the DEC fund to help the people in the Philippines affected by the typhoon, as they are still desperately in need of help.

Leave a Reply

