Works in progress…and a challenge for February

So the dark, grey and damp weather continues apace and I am CRAVING colour and light. I’ve been working on a few colourful knits and thought I’d share their progress in case you were in need of a colour boost as well!

First up is the Failynn Fox Cowl that I’m making up for a lovely friend’s daughter and which I’ll then be offering in the shop. It’s a lovely warm foxy colour and I’m working it up in a lovely soft yarn. I’ve nearly finished the main body of the cowl and then need to make the ears and finish off the edges. What I didn’t spot in the pattern at the beginning is that the edgings need to be crocheted, so I need to get on with some more crochet practice before I can finish it! (More on this in a later post!)

Failynn Fox cowl in progress...also comes in adult sizes!

Failynn Fox cowl in progress…also comes in adult sizes!

 

Next up is something I’ve been working on for a while for the shop which I’m hoping you will all love. I won’t tell you what it is just yet but will give you a sneaky peek. Any guesses what it is?

A very hungry work in progress...

A very hungry work in progress…

And finally something that happened completely by accident…something for me! I was looking for some chunky red yarn in my stash for the rest of the previous knit and I came across two balls of yarn that I had bought before Christmas intending to turn it into a cowl for the shop. I ran out of time last year to do anything with it but something about the gorgeous bright colours of this yarn made my heart sing and before I knew it, I was casting on a cowl for me. I honestly can’t remember the last time I made something for myself. What with making gifts and knits for the shop, and the small matter of the PhD to finish, there hasn’t been time to cast on anything for me. (Not that that has stopped me thinking about it, I have a list of knitted wants as long as my arm!). And what’s worrying is that when I was looking at this yarn that clearly had my name all over it with all its gorgeous bright shades,  I started to feel guilty about even thinking of setting aside some time to make myself something. And that my friends, is just wrong!

So I looked at this lovely yarn, which reminds me of beautiful Bollywood colours…

Pretty!

Pretty!

…I cast on…

Exciting!

Exciting!

…and I’ve been grabbing ten minutes here and there where I can and knitting a couple of rounds of this…

For me...ME! :)

For me…ME! 🙂

The photos don’t really don’t do it justice, because it’s so dark you can’t really see how the colours blend really subtly into one another and as well as bright pink, orange and teal, there’s also some lovely soft green, purple and grey shades. I’m so pleased with it already and can’t wait for it to be finished so I can snuggle up in it. It definitely gave me pause for thought as well, I think there’s so many of us who are great at doing all the things we should and things for other people but something stops us doing nice things for ourselves.  I’ve been reading so much about self-care recently and as a society we are reeeeeaallly bad at it and yet it’s so important for our health, happiness and general well-being.

So dear readers, in this month where there’s lots of talk of love, I challenge you to do something nice just for you! 🙂 It doesn’t have to cost money, you don’t even have to make something for yourself if that’s not your forte but it could be something as simple as a lovely hot bath, a walk to clear your head or just carving out ten minutes for yourself every day…just for you. I’d love to hear if this resonates with you and what you’re planning to do for yourself this month….feel the love, people! xxx

Leave a Reply

